Pete Bengeyfield: Blog http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog en-us (C) Pete Bengeyfield apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) Tue, 05 Sep 2017 17:50:00 GMT Tue, 05 Sep 2017 17:50:00 GMT http://www.bengeyphotos.com/img/s/v-5/u156799870-o802510307-50.jpg Pete Bengeyfield: Blog http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog 120 82 THE DAY http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2017/9/the-day THE DAYOne day last spring in Yellowstone was so exceptional for grizzly bear photography that I simply refer to it now as The Day. It went like this: At the end of each winter as bison migrate back to Yellowstone's Northern Range, they must pass Blacktail Ponds. The ponds span the valley, and bison often break through the ice and drown. Bears emerging from hibernation know this and show up to fish the bison carcasses out. On The Day, there were four bears on a carcass. Two left before it got light, while the other two stayed. The dominant bear controlled the carcass while the other, this one, waited his turn. You could almost hear him thinking: " As long as I have to wait, what can I do to make these photographers happy? I'll bet they'd like it if I went over to this snowbank and rolled around for a little while. Then maybe if I went and swam in the pond, breaking up the ice and splashing in the water they'd like that. And then, If I'd lay down right below them and chew on some old bones, they'd really like that." It was amazing. For about half the day it was like this bear was following a script. It'll be a long time before another day like it.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2017/9/the-day Tue, 05 Sep 2017 17:49:23 GMT
Granite Park http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/5/granite-park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/5/granite-park Mon, 02 May 2016 02:58:02 GMT
Sandhill Migration http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/3/sandhill-migration shc-425-dshc-425-dRowe Sanctuary
Platte River, NE.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/3/sandhill-migration Mon, 28 Mar 2016 17:18:54 GMT
The Year of the Fox http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/3/the-year-of-the-fox This was the year of the fox on Yellowstone's Northern Range.  There were at least seven of them at various times between Floating Island Lake and the Buffalo Ranch.  They were fairly tolerant and easy to photograph.  This one just made a leap on a vole, but missed.  Look in the fox gallery to see a couple of leaps. Missed that One

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/3/the-year-of-the-fox Wed, 02 Mar 2016 22:12:20 GMT
The Elusive Bobcat http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/2/the-elusive-bobcat The Elusive Bobcat

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2016/2/the-elusive-bobcat Tue, 02 Feb 2016 19:30:04 GMT
Mousing http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/12/mousing MousingLast week I went down to Yellowstone for a few days. It was pretty slow out in Lamar. I don't think there was enough snow to push the elk down very far, so the wolves were still up pretty high as well. I did manage to get a couple coyotes mousing in Round Prairie though. We had quite a bit of snow in Dillon this week, so I'm sure the Park got a bunch as well.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/12/mousing Fri, 18 Dec 2015 17:53:50 GMT
Chesler Park Sunrise http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/chesler-park-sunrise Chesler SunriseChesler SunriseA sunrise starburst at Chesler Park, Canyonlands National Park, Utah.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/chesler-park-sunrise Sat, 21 Nov 2015 13:14:08 GMT
Elegant Trogon http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/elegant-trogon Elegant trogonElegant trogonElegant trogon, Patagonia State park, Arizona

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/elegant-trogon Tue, 17 Nov 2015 06:19:23 GMT
Fall Snowfall http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/snow Early SnowEarly SnowAn early snowfall in the Tetons obscures the aspen leaves still on the trees. Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/snow Mon, 16 Nov 2015 22:08:39 GMT
Bacteria Rainbow http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/bacteria Bacteria RainbowBacteria RainbowBacteria patterns in thermal area, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/bacteria Mon, 16 Nov 2015 21:38:31 GMT
Different Directions http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/different-directions Different Directions IIDifferent Directions IIThe Navajo Sandstone once formed a desert much like today's Sahara. Subsequent twisting, sliding and other deformation eventually created the broken formations we see today. White Pocket, Arizona

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/different-directions Mon, 16 Nov 2015 21:14:46 GMT
Grand Prismatic Spring http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/grand-prismatic-spring Grand PrismaticGrand PrismaticBacteria patterns at Grand Prismatic Spring, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/grand-prismatic-spring Sat, 14 Nov 2015 21:28:42 GMT
On Golden Pond http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/on-golden-pond On Golden PondOn Golden PondA Trumpeter swan flexes its wings, Floating Island Lake, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/on-golden-pond Sat, 14 Nov 2015 21:15:51 GMT
Battling Buddies http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/battling-buddies Battlin' BuddiesBattlin' BuddiesA pair of sibling grizzly bears wrestle in Yellowstone's Lamar Valley.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/battling-buddies Sat, 14 Nov 2015 21:02:05 GMT
Predawn Challenge http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/predawn-challenge Dawn ChallengeDawn ChallengeA bull elk bugles a challenge, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/predawn-challenge Sat, 14 Nov 2015 16:20:25 GMT
Canyon Reflection http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/canyon-reflection Canyon ReflectionCanyon ReflectionA cottonwood tree is reflected in Coyote Gulch, Grand Staircase - Escalante National Monument

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/canyon-reflection Fri, 13 Nov 2015 20:36:41 GMT
After the Meal http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/after-the-meal wlf-847-dwlf-847-dGrey wolf, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/after-the-meal Fri, 13 Nov 2015 20:11:14 GMT
Lightning Strike http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/lightning-strike Lightning StrikeLightning StrikeA lightning bolt hits Black Butte in Montana's Gravelly Mountains, Beaverhead National Forest

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/lightning-strike Mon, 09 Nov 2015 22:57:39 GMT
White Pocket Dawn http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/white-pocket-dawn Pink DawnPink DawnDawn alpenglow lights up White Pockets, Utah.

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/white-pocket-dawn Sun, 08 Nov 2015 07:11:32 GMT
Food Fight http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/food-fight Food FightFood FightA pair of coyotes squabble over a meal, Yellowstone National Park

]]>
apbengey@gmail.com (Pete Bengeyfield) http://www.bengeyphotos.com/blog/2015/11/food-fight Sun, 08 Nov 2015 00:26:00 GMT